Jurisdiction to Apply
Consulate General of Italy in Kolkata will accept applications from residents of India and Nepal.

For India , applications from the residents of the States of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Tripura, Sikkim and West Bengal; the Union Territory of the Andaman & Nicobar Islands are accepted. The place of issue of a passport or the permanent resident mentioned in the passport does not determine the jurisdiction but it is the current place where an applicant resides for the past 6 months that determines whether he/she belongs to the above jurisdiction.Please note that visa applications cannot be processed from applicants (including Indian nationals) not permanently residing in India. Those visiting India and wishing to go to Italy from India - even on their way back to their country of residence - need to apply for their Schengen visa before departing from the relevant Consulate of their country of residence.

Short stay visas for the Schengen zone:
A Schengen visa authorizes you to enter the following countries:

Austria France Latvia Poland
Belgium Germany Lithuania Portugal
Czech Republic Greece Luxembourg Slovakia
Denmark Hungary Malta Slovenia
Estonia Iceland Netherlands Spain
Finland Italy Norway Sweden

Schengen visas must be obtained from the Embassy/Consulate of the country where the main purpose of travel is, or where the stay is the longest.

In case of travel to multiple Schengen countries, please make your application to the Embassy/Consulate of the country where you will be staying for the maximum number of days. In case of equal time stay in the Schengen states visited, one has to apply at the Schengen country which is the first port of entry.